Course Open
Divots taken on the side of Greens

The picture below shows a series of divots that were taken from the apron of the 2nd green whilst the player/players were playing to the 6th green.

Apron of 2nd Green

There is a local rule on the scorecard which refers to Rule 25-3 Wrong Putting Green. This includes the aprons as being part of the green and relief must be taken as per

Rule 25-3 b. Relief

'If a player's ball lies on a wrong putting green (in this case including the apron under Local Rule), he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty, as follows:

The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule.' 

Basically, the only time you should play a ball that has come to rest on the apron of a green at Lucan Golf Club is if it is on the hole that you are playing. 

Members Posts

 

More “Latest News